Dalí was an insane genius.

25 11 2009

This past weekend, the Consortium traveled up the Costa Brava following in Dalí’s footsteps.  We visited his house (with a swimming pool in a decidedly phallic shape), his museum in Figueres (lined with eggs on the roof) and the castle he bought and redecorated for his lover, Gala, with whom he only once had “relations”.  I loved hearing his stories- he has all the eccentricities I’d ever dream of having, and then some.  For example, he has this sculpture of “Christ made of rubbish” in his backyard.

One of the most famous pieces in his museum in Figueres is the Room in the Shape of Mae West’s face.  In reality, it wasn’t made by Dalí, but the idea/inspiration/everything about it came from a painting he made.  Later, another person arranged the room to reflet the original painting, and now there’s a giant face of Mae West made of furniture.

Mae West had a booger.

And then to the Gala castle, in Púbol, on Sunday: Basically, Gala and Dalí were in a love-filled, sexless relationship for a while, then a love-less, sexless relationship near the end of their lives.  Dalí bought this castle and decorated it eccentrically for Gala, and only came when directly invited by Gala.  He was only invited 3 times.

It was gorgeous, with amazing gardens (and leaves changing colors!).  We looked through everything and saw the lonely tomb of Gala.  There’s a spot next to her for Dalí, but after she died, he changed his mind and is buried in Figueres.  Major Diss.

I think the best part is the radiator.  Gala didn’t like the radiator in her sitting room, and asked Dalí to paint something to cover the ugly thing up.

Real radiator behind, painted one in front.

He painted a radiator.

 

 

So that’s Dalí in a nutshell (emphasis on the nut).  I’m sorry I’ve been so behind.  School here is actually existent and I’ve had a string of visitors keeping me happily distracted.  I’d like to shout out to Marisa R. for pestering me about updating (take that, woman).  And then a special Happy Birthday shout out to Margaret W., one of my besties from Brown (studying in Copenhagen) who is visiting me for her 20th birthday and Thanksgiving.

And that’s what I’ve got right now.  I’m heading to London this weekend and then it’s going to be HISTORY OF ISLAM, ALL THE TIME.

peace out