The A Team

16 09 2009

Tonight was the first meeting of Fall League for ultimate.  I got mad lost on the way there and showed up 30 minutes late.  Whoops!  By the time I arrived, my team had chosen a name (De Puta Madre) and captains.  I met some of the team members, still don’t know everyone’s name, but I’ll get better.

The moment that really made me laugh was when we scrimmaged against another team, simply named “The A Team”.  What a genius name! I wish Brown had thought of that for a team! oh wait….

Background: At Brown, the women’s A team is called Disco Inferno and the women’s B team was once called Laminar Flow (dorkyyyyy).  A couple of years before I arrived, the captains and players of B got together and brainstormed a new name.  Why not the A team, some (Melissa Revotskie) thought? No, too potent.  Instead, let’s name our team after the catchphrase from star of The A Team: Pity da Fool (Pfools, for short).

So tonight when De Puta Madre scrimmaged The A Team, I was wearing my white Pfools jersey, with the glorious face of Mr. T.  During our spirit circle, I was called out for my jersey and attempted to explain the story of the A team/B team joke- in Spanish.

Let’s just hope “I pity da fool” translates.





16 09 2009

I’m getting sick of getting lost and winding up at La Sagrada Familia.